Caesalpinia pulcherrima

This is the Caesalpinia pulcherrima (a.k.a. Pride of Barbados, a.k.a. Red Bird of Paradise, a.k.a. Dwarf Poinciana etc. etc.). I took this photo, and the rest below, in my mom’s garden out in the hill country of Texas. I try to get home a couple of times a year, and fortunately for me I met this guy in full bloom!  I am no botanist by any stretch of the imagination, but I would like to learn more about plants and flowers so I figure I share my learning adventure with my fellow bloggers! The Pride of Barbados, I have learned, loves the heat. If you live in a dry, hot climate… say Texas, Florida, New Mexico, Arizona, and have a broken green thumb, then this plant is for you. Some interesting facts you ask? Sure, why not!

DSC01001The seeds of the Caesalpinia pulcherrima are known to be toxic (depending on the specific breed and maturity of the seeds), and women who were kept as slaves used the plant to commit suicide in hopes of returning to their loved ones at home in Africa. Some mothers even used the leaves to make tea as a substitute for milk to give to their children. The Pride of Barbados was thought to have medicinal properties, such as curing the common cold, fighting against infections, tuberculosis, kidney stones, and even cancerous cells. Pretty cool huh? Remember the name! Caesalpinia pulcherrima.

DSC01080

I loved this next photo. In the middle of one of the gardens is a pond with flowers and all sorts of cool stuff. What more is there to say? It’s a frog… on a turtle!  Gotta love that 🙂

There are no real stories behind these next photos, I just wanted to share. Enjoy!

DSC01021 DSC01008 DSC00938DSC01045

Leave a Reply

